Climbing in the peaks without Cams

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 maxwill882 05 Oct 2023

I'm new to trad climbing and was wondering whether it is feasible to climb in the peak district without cams, 

There is a thread from 10 years or so ago but I thought id ask for some updated opinions

galpinos 05 Oct 2023
In reply to maxwill882:

Yes. I did it for years. Learn how to place hexs properly is horizontal breaks.

Now I have cams, I don't leave the ground without them......

midgen 05 Oct 2023
In reply to maxwill882:

It's certainly possible. I'm not sure I'd recommend venturing up natural grit routes that didn't have obvious vertical cracks for gear without some, especially as a new leader.

You could get a decent amount of mileage in at quarried places like Millstone and Lawrencefield with just a set of nuts though.

If you're pressed for cash, a set of Abalaks would give a cheap  option for protecting horizontal breaks.

CurlyStevo 05 Oct 2023
In reply to maxwill882:

I'd pick up a couple second hand on here if I was you, they come up pretty regularaly, get two mid size ones to start, that only just overlap in placement size. Perhaps a camalot green and yellow. Just make sure to save them for essential placements only.

McHeath 05 Oct 2023
In reply to maxwill882:

None existed before the mid 70s, so the answer is eminently: yes! You should find loads to do which can be adequately protected with wires, hexes and occasionally a sling arranged over a suitable rock spike or around a chockstone.

mrjonathanr 05 Oct 2023
In reply to maxwill882:

Yes, you can definitely manage without cams. I had none when I started. Learning to place wires and hexes well and to spot threads and spikes for slings is a key skill, so I wouldn’t worry about not having cams.

Do be mindful though that cams will make some routes safer or easier to protect, especially on grit, so choose your routes carefully.