Garden sheds

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 bpmclimb 19 Jul 2020

Looking to buy a garden shed, and feeling bewildered by the sheer number of models offered by different companies out there. Wondering whether to forget catalogue models and get a bespoke one made. Anyone got any advice - or bad experiences to report?

We're based near Chepstow, and we're after tanalised timber, fairly robust build, space is wide but not that deep - ideal specs would be reverse pent 16x7 with door in the long side, would consider something a little more standard like 14x6.

Thanks

J101 19 Jul 2020
In reply to bpmclimb:

As a landscaper I get to put up a few sheds and my main advice would be that anything really cheap will have paper thin wood and also quite likely be an absolute pain in the backside to erect.

On the flip side I've custom built a few and I can't even get the wood for the same price as you can buy a ready made. But you do get a much better end result.

Best bet is find a local supplier or two who have some demo models set up and go take a look.

Edit: If you go with getting one as a kit then I'd forgo the felt they supply and buy some decent stuff, it's worth it in the long run!

Post edited at 11:36
Removed User 19 Jul 2020
In reply to bpmclimb:

As above says its cheaper to buy ready made then make and add braces to corners and in my case roof. Also my door was too big so by the time I had fitted a frame and cut down the door by 4" is ended up as a really solid shed that will last years for £10 extra and 4 hours

balmybaldwin 19 Jul 2020
In reply to bpmclimb: