Moderate alpine rock climb recommendations

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
IvanLi 13 Nov 2019

I know there is plenty of info on this topic on the net, but my question is rather specific so feel like posting it anyway.

i am quite new to rock climbing, having climbed for 6 months now and am confident following 5.8/9, can get over 10a/b just ok.

I am looking for your ideas on what to climb in the Alps. I want long aesthetic lines that lead to the summit on high quality rock, the likes of Piz Badile Nordkante.

Also, how difficult are the classic Chamonix climbs like Voie des Suisses on Grand Capucin? The crux pitches are 6aish, but are they real 6a's or more on the soft side of the grade?

any ideas/info are much appreciated.

tehmarks 13 Nov 2019
In reply to IvanLi:

Are you planning on climbing it of your own accord with a partner, or would you be looking to be guided? No judgement, I only ask because:

> i am quite new to rock climbing, having climbed for 6 months now and am confident following 5.8/9, can get over 10a/b just ok.

> Also, how difficult are the classic Chamonix climbs like Voie des Suisses on Grand Capucin? The crux pitches are 6aish, but are they real 6a's or more on the soft side of the grade?

(My bold)

The routes on the Mont Blanc Massif side of the valley are generally very much trad, fixed gear or otherwise. You'll want to be confident leading the grade and confident general - with ropework, with moving and placing gear quickly and efficiently. It's not a place to experiment with pushing your grade; you need to be operating confidently at the grade of your chosen route. You'll also want to be confident in the environment and in moving on glaciated terrain. But you probably already know that, so apologies for the probably unnecessary caution.

> I am looking for your ideas on what to climb in the Alps. I want long aesthetic lines that lead to the summit on high quality rock, the likes of Piz Badile Nordkante.