Should I factor foot swell into boot fitting for 4000m routes?

Please Register as a New User in order to reply to this topic.
 huckleberry 24 May 2024

Hi everyone, I am currently trying out a new pair of mountaineering boots in sizes 11 and 11.5 UK.

Both feel great, the 11s are only slightly more snug. When I do the toe kick fit test, I feel a bit more contact with the 11s compared to the 11.5, but only when I kick super hard.

Initially I was set on keeping the 11s as they are a few grams lighter, until I learnt about foot swell. With the long routes I have in mind, now I think the larger size may be suitable.  

Is foot swell something that everyone experiences and should I factor it into the fit? Any other tips for picking the correct shoe would be greatly appreciated! Which size would you recommend going for?

Thank you in advance

Abr 24 May 2024
In reply to huckleberry:

I’m no boot expert but I’ve bought plenty and done a fair bit of winter stuff…

do your feet normally swell on a long walk? Or on a Scottish winter route? How old are you etc?

my gut feel wold be go the larger size…

Im 59 and my feet swell now which they never used to hence the age query.

OP huckleberry 24 May 2024
In reply to Abr:

I have not done prolonged crampon walking so not sure how my feet will react to this. First time I’ll be with crampon compatible boots- my other hiking shoes are roomy so I haven’t suffered from over tightness during long walks. 
I am in my early twenties.

Slarti B 24 May 2024
In reply to huckleberry:

For boots, I think comfort is more important than weight, especially if only a few grams.  As well as foot swell you should consider need for thicker socks in colder weather. 

I have short wide feet and, from my own experience, it is better to go for a slightly longer size that I can pad out with insoles if needed.

chris687 24 May 2024
In reply to huckleberry:

No

In reply to huckleberry:

Yes

McHeath 25 May 2024
In reply to huckleberry: