Help with my undergraduate dissertation on rock climbing!

Please Register as a New User in order to reply to this topic.
 Poonammenger 29 Apr 2024

Hi everyone,

My name is Poonam and I’m an undergraduate anthropology student at University College London. I’m writing this as I am currently completing my dissertation on rock climbing and I would love to be able to chat to everyone about their experiences of indoor and outdoor climbing in the UK. I would also like to talk about how people use this site as a part of their climbing experience and network. Also if anyone would be willing to participate in a slightly longer interview I’d be extremely grateful, all of your opinions are invaluable to my research!

If anyone has more questions about my research I’d be happy to explain further, I hope to hear from lots of people soon!

Many thanks,

Poonam 

TobyA 29 Apr 2024
In reply to Poonammenger:

Nice to hear about someone doing an anthropological study of climbing, so on that basis - I better volunteer! Don't climb indoor much, but climb outside most weeks and have been doing so since the start of the 1990s. I'm also a sociology (among other subjects) teacher, which might or might not be a good thing - but critical comments on your methodology are not out of the question.  

Doug 29 Apr 2024

I don't live in the UK so guess I'm excluded from your study but thought it worth mentioning Mike Thompson as a mountaineering anthropologist in case you haven't heard of him. He wrote a couple of non-academic articles partly based on his experiences with one or more large Bonington epeditions (eg "Out with the boys again" which was included in "The Games Climbers Play"). More academic papers listed on https://scholar.google.com/citations?user=m7EmH-IAAAAJ&hl=en

Maybe useful for some ideas ?

Mark Kemball 29 Apr 2024

Please feel free to contact me, rock climbing since 1974. Always happy to talk about climbing.

I’d be happy to help. (Rock climbed from 1966-2009).