Excel cvs grid reference data, shapefiles, and ArcgisPro

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Timmd 06 Feb 2024

Hi Folks,

It's a while since I've created anything with arcgis, from memory one needs to have a shape file onto which to plot the data, if one has an excel file with SK style grid references in it, how might one go about creating a shape file which relates to them (the area covered being parts of Hillsborough, Walkley & Crookes in Sheffield)?

If one assumes that I'm a novice in this, that's probably the best place to start from towards any instructions, and presently I just have the Excel csv file with my grid references contained.

Many thanks.

Post edited at 13:44
 ianstevens 06 Feb 2024
In reply to Timmd:

https://mapscaping.com/import-xy-coordinate-data-into-arcgis-pro/#:~:text=D....

You'll need to convert from SK to something Arc will understand

https://digimap.edina.ac.uk/help/our-maps-and-data/bng/#:~:text=To%20conver...

Given that this is your second or third post on this, can I suggest that you email your project supervisor/whoever taught you GIS for a meeting?

Post edited at 13:51
 J.upton94 06 Feb 2024
In reply to Timmd:

Yo, 
You can make a shapefile from a CSV, if you have a X and Y/ Easting and Northing.

Add the CSV file to ArcMap, right-click on it and select Display XY data. Select appropriate values in the shown dialog, press OK. A new featureclass will be added to the map. Right-click on that, select Data, Export Data. 

For ArcGIS Pro,

Navigate to the Geoprocessing pane.

In the search field, type “XY Table to Point” and select the tool when it appears.

For ‘Input Table’, select the table you imported.

The ‘Output Feature Class’ name will auto-populate. Modify the name if desired.

The XY fields should auto-populate based on attributes from the table. If not, use the dropdown menu to select the appropriate attributes for the X and Y fields.

OP Timmd 06 Feb 2024
In reply to J.upton94:

Thanks.