Hiking Backpack for a photographer/hiker/climber

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 RichBas 26 Jan 2024

Hi All,

So here is my issue. I enjoy hiking, climbing etc so need a hiking bag for this.

Pretty easy as there are lots.

However I’m also a keen photographer and more often than not leave the main camera behind when I’m on a hike as there is nowhere to store it safely in a dedicated hiking pack.

i have more camera bags and backpacks than I know what to do with but even my favourite (lowepro flip side trek) is too camera dedicated with not enough space for other stuff and is also uncomfortable and clunky when doing anything other than a light walk.

My ideal scenario is having a twin compartment pack where I can put a camera insert or peakdesign camera cube in the lower compartment which frees the top up for normal gear.

For this bag I’m looking at 1 camera and 1 lens without taking all my camera kit with me (so just a Sony A7iii + 24-70 f2.8) 

Ive tested out an Osprey Stratos 36 today and love the pack. But the lower compartment is a bit tight for my needs.

Can anyone recommend anything? 

larger lower compartment (and wider opening) than the osprey stratos 36)

I love the padding In the lower compartment on the osprey. Will I get similar with Lowe alpine etc.

thoughts folks as I’m at a loss.

chiroshi 26 Jan 2024
In reply to RichBas:

Have you looked at Shimoda? I have a photographer friend who uses one of their bags skiing and hiking. It's heavy but the features are very well thought out in general.

65 26 Jan 2024
In reply to RichBas:

Try Aiguille Alpine, they will make whatever you want. It won’t be cheap but it will be worth it.

I have a gigantic POD rucksack which fulfills this role but the pack itself is heavy before you put anything in it, so I tend to just suffer having to excavate the camera bag from the top of my normal day pack.

smbnji 26 Jan 2024
In reply to RichBas: