Water bottles with built in filter

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Godwin 23 Oct 2023

Has anyone experience of these. In particular does the water flow out into your mouth, or is it slow as it has to come through the filter.

Andypeak 23 Oct 2023
In reply to Godwin:

You have to suck or squeeze to get the water out. If you just turn it upside down you just get a trickle. 

OP Godwin 23 Oct 2023
In reply to Andypeak:

Thank you, is this mildly bothersome, or something you swiftly get used to.

Paul at work 23 Oct 2023
In reply to Godwin:

Have a look at the products from Grayl. I have been using the UltraPress Water Purifier for the last two years, particularly on ML training and assessment courses. Easy to use and really effective and it doesn't have the same problem of other types of filter water bottles i.e. the water flows out easily. Plus it is quicker to use than most of the other handheld water filters. 

freeflyer 23 Oct 2023
In reply to Godwin:

For about 1.5 x the cost of the UltraPress you can get a UV Steripen - no sucking or squeezing required.

AlanLittle 23 Oct 2023
In reply to Godwin:

I have a Katadyn BeFree. As Andypeak said, you do have to suck or squeeze but the flow rate is perfectly ok for either drinking or filling another water bottle.

With one important caveat: if the filter has dried out between trips, soak it before you use it. It hardly flows at all when it's completely dry.

Post edited at 14:45
OP Godwin 23 Oct 2023
In reply to freeflyer:

Do they really work, seem to good to be true. I actually have one, had it for years, but have never trusted it, when it actually came down to it.

LastBoyScout 23 Oct 2023
In reply to Godwin:

I've got a Sawyer Mini fitted inline in a hydration bladder - you can screw it directly onto many standard bottles or use it with a straw, though. As stated, you do need to be able to squeeze the bottle for best effect.