Everest Base Camp and Island Peak March/April 2024

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Ewol Mullac 08 Jun 2023

Hello, I am new to this but here it goes.

In 2024 im booked with The Adventure People to go to EBC and Island peak. Originally it started out as me and my girlfriend just hiking to EBC but something inside of me wanted to go a little further and summit a local mountain. I’ve never used fixed ropes. I’ve hiked Ben Macdui in snow using crampons but that’s about it. My girlfriend isn’t so sure on the trip anymore which is fine I always knew it was more of a me thing. She originally said she’d go to base camp but no higher which is fine. But now I think she’s having cold feet about the expedition so I might be going the whole trip alone. Which is a big deal with my social anxiety but my plan is to do this whilst I’m 27. 

Any Advice would be appreciated! I’ve been told I can hire stuff in Nepal, but with someone for anxiety that uncertainty isn’t great. I’m probably going to buy boots and a sleeping bag from the U.K I keep researching but going round in circles. Harnesses etc im happy to hire when I’m there. 

Look forward to hearing from you all 

Thank you!  Callum 

OG 17 Jun 2023
In reply to Ewol Mullac:

Hi Callum

Sorry hear about the anxiety, I know that’s tough.

You will probably need different things for EBC trek vs Island Peak and you may be able to hire. I would start by asking the company you are booked with your Qs about kit and whether you can rent directly from them (/if they can arrange it for you). I expect the can as that’s what these companies are there for. It should be less stressful if they can sort you out, and also give you the certainty over what else to take (usually they have a decent kit list and can answer Qs on specific items etc).