French Alps - long weekends feasible from Brussels?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Riverman 13 Dec 2016
My first post here on UKC. I’m a hillwalker who seems to be making the transition towards easier mountaineering after trying and enjoying some harder scrambles / easier rock climbs over the last couple of years (e.g. sections of the Cuillin, Cyfrwy arete, Cneifion arete). I've also done some Scottish winter climbs at Grade I and II as well as Tower ridge in winter.

Currently based in London and with a timetable that gives me two Fridays free a month, I’ve been able over the last few years to get up to Snowdonia and the Highlands pretty regularly for walking and scrambling weekends. I don’t really consider myself a rock climber. I have climbed a couple of routes at Severe at Polldubh and a 4c sport climb with a guide in the Alps. I have no experience leading anything but have scrambled at grade I and II solo.

In the new year I’m moving to Brussels for a new job. It’s just as far from big hills as London and at first I was a bit down in the dumps that weekend escapes to Snowdonia and Scotland are possibly a thing of the past for me. However, I have realised that Brussels is only about 5 hours by train from Grenoble (with one change in Lyon). This summer I did a week’s alpine intro on one of Graham Frost’s courses and climbed Mont Blanc de Cheilon and the Pigne d’Arolla. Next summer I’d like to head back to the Val d’Herens and see how I fare on more difficult routes at perhaps AD grade.