UKC

Help for author

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Jane Shuff 06 Jul 2023

Hi all. I'm a writer not a rock climber although climbing features in two of my thrillers. I'm currently writing a third one and I need someone to give me a bit of advice generally but also specifically about rappeling while self belaying. Anyone up for it? Thank you so much if you can. Jane

Wimlands 06 Jul 2023
In reply to Jane Shuff:

The BMC have a how to abseil page https://www.thebmc.co.uk/climb-skills-abseiling

at the start of the T Rex video you see Trevor abseiling down with good practice/technique.

you could check out the page on this site as well for a couple of nice videos 

https://www.ukclimbing.com/articles/skills/series/montane_instruction/how_t...

Does that help?

Post edited at 12:09
 GarethKelley 06 Jul 2023
In reply to Jane Shuff:

Hi Jane,

Whilst I am a fairly novice climber, I am well acquainted with all of the systems that we use to ascend and descend our various projects.

Feel free to ask away and if I can help in anyway, I'll be happy to

BR,
Gareth.

Jenny C 06 Jul 2023
In reply to Jane Shuff:

If your book is set in the UK the first piece of advice is that we don't rappel. The British term would be abseiling.

Pedro50 06 Jul 2023
In reply to Jenny C:

They're both foreign words! I prefer rap.

In reply to Jane Shuff:

Not sure what you mean by "rappelling while self belaying" but might I suggest that perhaps the best way to learn more is to go and try it. I'm sure someone will be along to offer to take you out but you need to be sure that they have the relevant experience.

In reply to Gaston Rubberpants:

Good god what on earth is there to dislike about what I said.  Go get a life.

McHeath 06 Jul 2023
In reply to Jane Shuff:

When´s the novel set? Methods have changed a lot in the last 100 years ...

ebdon 06 Jul 2023
In reply to Gaston Rubberpants: