Wilko Johnson RIP

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 robert-hutton 23 Nov 2022

Another great gone,  sad news

graeme jackson 23 Nov 2022
In reply to robert-hutton:

Such a shame.  Brilliant guitarist and astronomer to boot.  I recall in the feelgood documentary he'd built an observatory in the roof.  last saw him in Glasgow in the company of Dylan Howe and Norman Wattroy supporting the Quo.  I enjoyed Wilco's set a lot more.  

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-63728503

Pedro50 23 Nov 2022

Shame, I was lucky to see him at the Rory Gallagher festival at Ballyshannon about 5 years ago. Unforgettable.

Dave Garnett 23 Nov 2022

A genuine hero.  His occasional online tutorials on how to play rhythm and lead at the same time are hilarious... and astonishing.

Classic no-nonsense answers too-

'What pedals do you use?'

'Pedals? Pedals?  I'm a guitarist not a f***in g cyclist!'

deepsoup 23 Nov 2022

Best part of a decade of extra time though, following his erroneous (as it turned out) diagnosis of inoperable terminal cancer back at the end of 2012. 

It's well worth listening to this remarkable interview again.  (Especially from 7:50 onwards, as he talks about what he believed at the time was his imminent death.)  What a guy.

youtube.com/watch?v=ZH-oENTbgUI&

Harry Jarvis 23 Nov 2022
In reply to deepsoup:

Very sad news. 

Also worth watching is Julian Temple's 2015 documentary:

youtube.com/watch?v=zLLPsGoBtF8&

65 23 Nov 2022

Such a character, seemed like a great guy too. I remember how joyful I was when he beat cancer all those years ago, and I’m not even particularly enthusiastic about Dr Feelgood. Only saw them once, sans Wilko sadly. 
RIP, marvellous innit.

Jim Lancs 23 Nov 2022
In reply to 65:

Saw him at the Brewery in Kendal playing with The Hamsters on their 'Mad, the Bad and the Dangerous' tour. What an evening!

felt 23 Nov 2022