Men and choice

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 minimike 04 May 2022

US centric thread.. but I think it’s very important and where the US goes, many places follow.

I saw an interesting comment on Twitter along the lines that men have an important role on the Supreme Court anti abortion leak...

A lot of men will apparently say ‘it’s none of my business - I can’t get involved as i have no experience’..

I think this is weak and dismissive. By saying that, it implies there are arguments for and against abortion, on which men should not comment, which there are in any individual case I’m sure. It must be an agonising decision. But by saying that, it implies we men acknowledge womens right to make those choices - so we are pro choice.

Ok then men.. let’s say we are pro choice if we are, and support women who have to make these difficult choices. Please don’t sit on the fence and imply pro-life (anti-choice) is equally valid! 

(Of course if you are pro-life, I respect your view, disagree vehemently with it and ask that you too would be clear about your position, whilst refraining from imposing it on anyone else)

subtle 04 May 2022
In reply to minimike:

Quiet day for you today?

Dave Garnett 04 May 2022
In reply to minimike:

> Ok then men.. let’s say we are pro choice if we are, and support women who have to make these difficult choices. Please don’t sit on the fence and imply pro-life (anti-choice) is equally valid! 

Well then, I'm pro-choice, but I'd much rather listen to the opinions of women who are directly affected. 

In particular, whilst obviously respecting their right to express an opinion, I don't want to hear another entitled, morally illiterate, post-reproductive, 'socially conservative', pro-capital punishment, god-bothering misogynist lecturing anyone on how a woman's right is subservient to that of a small collection of preconscious cells.

montyjohn 04 May 2022
In reply to minimike: