It's my UKC birthday weekend - 20 years!

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Tony the Blade 26 Jan 2024

I just had a random look at my profile and noticed that I have been walking the streets of this parish for 20 years on Sunday.

I've engaged with UKC for most of those years with the odd break for no particular reason other than maybe due to looking at Facebook more. Now that I've ditched FB I realise that UKC has the answers to all of life's questions - except maybe 3PS grading and aeroplanes on treadmills.

I've made friends on here, as well as possibly a couple of enemies. I've seen many folks come and go... Sutty and Al Evans RIP.

I enjoy UKC because it's not just about climbing/hillwalking, I feel I can literally ask just about anything and it would yield a response. Also, it's not the echo chamber that my FB feed had become and the debates, sometimes arguments, on UKC appear to be driven by passion and not hate.

Keep it up, you're all doing great.

Happy birthday to me - Cheers Tony the Blade

alan moore 26 Jan 2024
In reply to Tony the Blade:

Happy Birthday!

It'll be 20 years for me in May. Time flies!

ChrisBrooke 26 Jan 2024
In reply to alan moore:

Congrats chaps, in a weird, internetty way 🙂I’m not far off 20 years myself and UKC has been there through thick and thin, answering life’s child-rearing, plumbing, religious, philosophical, political, baking, photographic, and occasionally…..climbing questions with knowledge, humour, passion and diversity. With a side order of wind-up-merchantery, banter and weirdness. Long may it continue. 

wilkie14c 26 Jan 2024

Wow, me too! Sept for me. If only we had a pound for every hour wasted away on the Friday night drinking threads over those 20 years

JLS 26 Jan 2024

Happy UKC Bithday! You’re 5 months older than me.

Offwidth 27 Jan 2024

Must be getting close to 25 for some of us. I resisted a profile for a while longer than most and I registered in april 02.