Do you reckon one out of every hundred members of your profession...

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 TobyA 25 Feb 2023

...faced a criminal charge last year?

https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2023/feb/25/revealed-one-in-100-uk-poli...

Is that a big number? I feel that it is, but I'm not really sure. I'm a teacher, I doubt one out of every hundred teachers faced a criminal charge last year, but could be totally wrong on that...

SouthernSteve 25 Feb 2023
In reply to TobyA:

What's the proportion for MPs I wonder?

elliot.baker 25 Feb 2023
In reply to TobyA:

Well this website says:

In the year ending March 2022, there were 1.01 million offenders convicted at all courts, 31% higher than in the previous year, but 13% lower than in the year to March 2020.

https://www.gov.uk/government/statistics/criminal-justice-system-statistics...

UK population is 67m. So that’s 1/67 of everyone was charged with something each year. 

wonder if any institute type bodies hold stats for their professions. 

dunc56 25 Feb 2023
In reply to SouthernSteve:

2 in 1

wintertree 25 Feb 2023
In reply to TobyA:

> Is that a big number?

Let's do an order of magnitude  sense-check on that:

UK criminal charges in a recent year:

UK Population in that year:

So, population wide, that's (1.36 million people charged / year) / 68.5 million people = 2.0% of the population charged / year.  That's 2x  higher than the rate you quote, so the question is more "why is the rate so much lower in professional circles?"