Clickbaity 'maths' problems

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 ablackett 10 Oct 2023

Hi,

I'm after as many examples as I can find of different types of clickbait 'maths' problems.

The sort of thing i'm after are stuff like those below.  I'll post the answers in the next post, if people want to play along then don't read my reply.

How does 88888888=1000?

If 3*5=25
4*6=125
5*7=256
5*3=?

2+3=5
3+4=12
7+8=27
10+11=?

1223457=3
235677=2
133578=1
245678=4
133590=?

If you know of any others or a good place I can go to find a bunch of this sort of stuff then please let me know.

Many thanks for any help.

OP ablackett 10 Oct 2023
In reply to ablackett:

888+88+8+8+8=1000

if 3*5=25, then 5*3=25, the rest is irrelevant.  

2+3=5
(5)+3+4 = 12
(12)+7+8=27
(27)+10+11=48

the right hand side represents the number of even digits in the number to the left, so 133590=1

If you really don't like these puzzles, i'm with you.  I'm a maths teacher, they go against every grain of my education and to some extent my belief system, but there you go, so don't try and argue with me that these puzzles are rubbish, I entirely agree with you.

J72 10 Oct 2023
In reply to ablackett:

Most upsetting content on UKC for some time 

OP ablackett 10 Oct 2023
In reply to J72:

Yeah, I am sorry. I really am.

Michael Hood 10 Oct 2023
In reply to ablackett:

> if 3*5=25, then 5*3=25, the rest is irrelevant.  

Pedant alert - that's a big jump - we don't actually know what your * operator means, it's obviously not normal multiplication so how can you possibly assume that it's commutative?

E.g. 3*5 means add 10 to both numbers, add them together and then subtract the first number = 25

But 5*3 with that operator = 23

That operator doesn't fit the other examples but you can see what I mean.

Post edited at 19:03
OP ablackett 10 Oct 2023
In reply to Michael Hood: