Strange dizziness when hiking uphill

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 wainright 29 May 2023

Hi folks,

Not sure this is really the right place to post this, but just wondered if some of the more wise among you could possibly offer any reason why this might be happening? or if anyone has experienced similar?

On a couple of occasions recently, when hiking steep ground, I am experiencing an odd dizziness that just comes on quickly and the surroundings look a little strange, it literally goes away in seconds if I just sit down.

I have been hiking for 35 years and never experienced anything like this before, it isn't like vertigo and is not happening on particularly exposed ground. 

Obviously I will seek medical advice, but was really just curious if anyone else had experience of this happening.

Thank you

Wimlands 29 May 2023
In reply to wainright:

Dehydration maybe ?

Cog 29 May 2023
In reply to wainright:

Is your blood pressure ok?

OP wainright 29 May 2023
In reply to Wimlands:

Could that be a possible reason? how does this cause dizziness?

OP wainright 29 May 2023
In reply to Cog:

Blood pressure is fine as far as I am aware, never experienced this problem before to be honest

John Gresty 29 May 2023
In reply to wainright:

From personal experience, get yourself checked.

John

CameronDuff14 29 May 2023
In reply to wainright:

I've had something similar, and it turned out to be an iron deficiency. Definitely worth speaking to your GP about!

The Norris 29 May 2023
In reply to wainright:

> Could that be a possible reason? how does this cause dizziness?

Dehydration reduces the volume of blood circulating your body, this can reduce your blood pressure, meaning you can suffer dizziness. Sounds like a plausible explanation, and as we all age, I guess the effects of this type of thing become a bit more noticeable with time.

Jamie Hageman 29 May 2023
In reply to wainright:

It could be an inner ear imbalance -