First Trad Rack advice

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Kozma 08 Nov 2021

Hello, this is my first time posting, and I'm wondering if I could get some advice on my first trad rack. I've got a list of gear I'm wanting and have been looking out for deals. I've got experienced friends who I go out with, and I am confident at belaying and seconding. However, I'm looking to build my own rack, so we don't have to keep relying on one friend to have all the necessary gear. I'd appreciate your advice on if I should change anything in my list and the amounts I should buy. Thanks so much!

Here's my list so far (not including harness, belay device and helmet as I have those):

• 4-6 locking carabiners
  • 20-30 non locking (wiregate) carabiners
  • Nut key
  • 240cm x 25mm sling
  • 8-10 60cm slings
  • 2-4 120cm slings
  • Set of nuts sizes 1-11
  • Cam set sizes 2, 3, 4
  • 9.8mm 60m single rope
Post edited at 13:19
 Toerag 08 Nov 2021
In reply to Kozma:

Borrow stuff to work out what you like before buying. If you climb regularly with someone get what they don't have so that between you you build a full rack faster.

You seem to have lots of 60cm slings, what do you plan to use these for? Same goes for the loads of wiregates.

I'd always advise people to get a small pink tricam and microwires - the tricam goes wherever your thumb will, and the wire weigh naff-all but will get you out the poo if the rock you climb on has thin cracks.

wbo2 08 Nov 2021
In reply to Kozma:  where do you mostly climb? 

Personally I'd add a set of hexes/torque nuts. 

Rather than all the krabs and 60cm slings- alpine draws ? - I'd get 2 bulk packs of quick draws (12 total)   then a multipack of krabs and 3 or 4 60cm slings...  you can use the krabs as you see fit, and you'll have a bunch of draws to go sport climbing. 

Rest looks OK 

OP Kozma 08 Nov 2021
In reply to Toerag:

Thanks so much for the quick response!