Winter Routes on Y Garn, Ogwen

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 GarethKelley 24 Nov 2023

Hi guys,

I'm fairly new to winter climbing/scrambling. Done plenty of winter hiking.
I'm confident with the systems and techniques

I was just wondering if anyone could offer a picture of Y Garn with it's easier winter routes pencilled on please?
My partner and I want to start taking on some of the easier routes during this winter season to (hopefully) be more proficient come next season.

From what I see there are A, B, C and Banana gulleys.

Thanks in advance

profitofdoom 24 Nov 2023
In reply to GarethKelley:

If you Google "Y Garn winter topo" you will soon find a photo with winter routes marked on it 

OP GarethKelley 24 Nov 2023
In reply to profitofdoom:

Aww thanks so much. I thought I'd done this but it kept showing summer routes.
Turns out I hadn't put winter in the search.

Typical me...

Thanks again

profitofdoom 24 Nov 2023

> Aww thanks so much. I thought I'd done this but it kept showing summer routes. > Turns out I hadn't put winter in the search. > Typical me... > Thanks again

You're welcome! Hope you have good climbing this winter

cragtyke 29 Nov 2023

https://ogwen-rescue.org.uk/webcams/

Y Garn looks great on the Oggicam at the moment, you can see the lines of the gullies, not that they'll be in condition yet.

Well you could, but it's just clouded over. 🙁

Post edited at 10:45
 ianstevens 29 Nov 2023
In reply to profitofdoom:

Or even better... buy the guidebook someone bothered to spend ages making

OP GarethKelley 29 Nov 2023
In reply to ianstevens:

A very fair point, I just wanted to have a browse on Google Earth before venturing out to the routes just to try and visualise/understand them.

I do always buy guidebooks though, I have a book shelf full

OP GarethKelley 29 Nov 2023
In reply to cragtyke:

I was looking at it 5 minutes ago. It's got a nice dusting on at the moment

TobyA 29 Nov 2023