Lake District snows this weekend

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Matthew Boddy 13 Oct 2023

Hi all,

I'm relatively new to going out in winter conditions so please forgive my inexperience, but I've seen the forecast for higher tops in the lake District where I live as snow from midnight tonight until midnight tomorrow. Being so early in the season, I'm wondering if more experience Lakeland folks think this will be worth going out for in terms of how much snow there's likely to be on the ground, and if so is it better to go out tomorrow afternoon while it's still falling, or wait until Sunday when it's all fallen? FYI Sundays forecast is no less cold than Saturday's, but no snow. 

Any advice greatly appreciated,

Thanks, Matt.

DaveHK 13 Oct 2023
In reply to Matthew Boddy:

What do you mean by 'worth going out for in terms of how much snow there's likely to be on the ground'? 

It might be nice to wander around in the snow but it won't bring anything into actual winter condition.

Tim Bevan 13 Oct 2023

For climbing - no chance, things take a long time to freeze, you need more than snow.

For walking - as you like.

TobyA 13 Oct 2023

I'm think about going up there for a walk on Sunday, always nice to see some snow. But the ground will be warm currently so I'm not sure it will settle that readily? But always hard to say in autumn. If you are local I'd definitely go out for a walk and enjoy it though! If you go out during the snow coming down on Saturday you can get some real navigation practice in with your map and compass and so on. If you go out Sunday you can probably snap some lovely photos and make those of us less local well jel! 

If it looks like snow is settling up top, strap an ice axe to your pack just in case. You probably won't need it, but better safe than sorry and if you are walking around in the snow, you'll be the one being sensible and properly equipped. 

CantClimbTom 13 Oct 2023