Any digital art students in the house?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Enty 19 Feb 2024

Little Ent has been accepted to an art school in Montpellier studying illustration, graphic design and 3D animation and we're looking for advice on what computer she'll need.
Do students nowadays have laptops which they take with them everywhere or do they have a desktop at their accommodation? 
I think we know what spec we need in terms of power, graphic card etc but would love any other advice. Seems like it's a bit of a minefield.

Cheers,

E

rattusrattus 19 Feb 2024
In reply to Enty:

Hi,

I studied a similar degree, and work in a role that encompasses most of this. I work on a macbook pro with 32gb memory, but I don't touch 3D animation on it and any more elaborate animations I have to work on I use a desktop in the office.

I would assume if there is a focus on 3D animation there would be facilities at the university, but it is worth checking what they have on offer.

Jon Greengrass 19 Feb 2024
In reply to Enty:

All the open days I've been to at Scottish art schools, where my eldest is applying,  have been very clear that first years do not need anything other than a basic laptop for writing essays on. All the processor intensive graphics work can be done in the university computer labs,  and or laptops etc can be borrowed from the technology stores. In 2nd or 3rd year once they have experience that's the time to get your own machine.

What does Little Ent's school say?

OP Enty 19 Feb 2024
In reply to both:

Thanks for answering. I have the following info.

She was at the school last week for a two day familiarisation course and asked a lot of questions - again with conflicting advice.

A tutor there said a good quality laptop with a "gaming" standard processor which will be good for the 3D stuff.

Then some of the students said they never bring the laptop in because , obviously, all the studios have top end computers on location.