Guide Cert Question

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 pkasco 07 Feb 2024

Hi,

I have some questions about obtaining guide certs and I'm wondering if anyone has any suggestions or knowledge here. I've been climbing for over 25 years now (first climb was actually at Rosyth Quarry...in the rain...got caught under a mud waterfall mid-route...ended up at Alien Rock in the afternoon to everyone else's surprise!), but guiding has never been an endeavor for me as a climber.

Having said that, I have a few things that have happened in my life recently that are somewhat making me reconsider this. I'm American and currently live in the US. However, our granddaughter lives in Switzerland and we're missing out on those early years. My wife has an opportunity for Italian citizenship, so we're thinking of moving to Northern Italy to be closer to family. That may take a few years still, but we're working on it and confident in that paperwork.

Recently my wife got a job at a university and we moved to Boston. Me, being an artist, I had no job in the area, so when I saw her university asking for climbing instructors, I jumped on just to get some hours of something in the bank. It turns out, not by my definition, that I'm pretty good at teaching climbing in particular. In fact, they've got me teaching multiple classes, including the advanced class. Because of my experience, they want to hire me as a guide for student trips, but they want me to get certified first, mostly for insurance purposes. The certs here are mostly AMGA.