Sharpen your axes :-(

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 TechnoJim 25 Jul 2023
In reply to kevin stephens:

One the one hand, the collapse of global food production. On the other, decent winter conditions. It's a toughie.

When the North American ice sheets melted the giant pool of water (where the great lakes are now) was held back by an ice dam. When the dam broke loads of cold fresh water hit the gulf stream changing the salt content and therefore density as well as the temperature and shut off the gulf stream. Greenland melting today is very different. Melt water flows straight into the Atlantic constantly in more manageable amounts rather than one massive hit. Most predictions suggest that the gulf stream should be able to cope with this. Now, I'm a geography teacher not a paleoclimatologist so someone might be along shortly to provide some more up to date ideas but I'm not panicking (about this particular climate threat) just yet.

Stichtplate 26 Jul 2023

The problem (advantage?) for most gen Xers is that we've been living with multiple existential threats our entire lives and this particular one's not even new.

Is "Imminent Armageddon Fatigue" an actual thing?

Duncan Bourne 26 Jul 2023
In reply to Somerset swede basher:

Its interesting as the simple "Gulf stream collapses we go cold" scenario is more complex.

This piece from around 2006 calls it a myth.

http://ocp.ldeo.columbia.edu/res/div/ocp/gs/

While this piece published recently gives a more nuanced view

https://www.livescience.com/planet-earth/climate-change/gulf-stream-current...