Lightweight boots

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 waterfall 28 Mar 2021

First time poster, long time lurker, thanks for any help in advance

I have been using the Innovate Roclites (as below) for about six months, fantastic boots, really light weight and I have loved them.  Problem is, the mesh is now ripped on the top, so I need a replacement.

https://www.inov-8.com/roclite-g-345-gtx-mens-lightweight-hiking-boot

Please can anyone share any recommendations?  I would buy these again but would worry about them ripping again.  

The new boots I want are for hillwalking in the UK, Spring / Summer shoe

thanks in advance folks, I appreciate anyones input

Martin Bennett 28 Mar 2021
In reply to waterfall:

I'd have a look at the Salomon X Ultra Mid GTX. I've not had mine that long but knew they were right the minute I put them on. I can't speak for the longevity of this exact model yet but have had an earlier, very similar Salomon shoe and they're very tough, even withstanding several desert trips with rugged rock and spiky plants which, for a predominantly fabric shoe, is remarkable.

Post edited at 21:10
OP waterfall 28 Mar 2021
In reply to Martin Bennett:

thanks Martin, I'll take a look at some reviews

What's the fabric top like on top, does it feel flimsy?  it looks to be a bit further back from the pics than the roclites so that is a positive

Martin Bennett 28 Mar 2021
In reply to waterfall:

I'd say it's tough enough and protected by a rand all the way round so that only a couple of square inches above the base of your toes is vulnerable.  Incidentally so far in the wet they've been like wellies though I don't expect that to last the life of them. For sizing get your size - I went up a half to a 9 just in case but sent 'em back in exchange for an 8.5 which is what I am.

olddirtydoggy 28 Mar 2021
In reply to waterfall: