Variable running performance

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 BusyLizzie 26 Nov 2019

I've had a couple of poor months this autumn - very slow, and not doing much distance, in September and October. And suddenly in November things are better, distance is better, speed is picking up - deliberately not giving stats here cos everything is relative  and we're all different.

But why? I am too old for any sort of biorhythms, all parts of the month are the same, I live a fairly constant lifestyle ... there is just no obvious explanation. I guess the answer is just to enjoy it w3hem it's good.

DaveHK 26 Nov 2019
In reply to BusyLizzie:

That's life.

EuanM 26 Nov 2019
In reply to BusyLizzie:

Perhaps your body needed the rest and benefitted from the period of lower mileage? 

The slower miles in Autumn were presumably at a lower HR and might therefore have improved your aerobic threshold?

Although, I’m no expert... 

Ridge 27 Nov 2019
In reply to EuanM:

> Perhaps your body needed the rest and benefitted from the period of lower mileage? 

My Garmin has helpfully noted my training is now 'unproductive', which is nice ☹

petemeads 27 Nov 2019
In reply to Ridge:

Similarly, mine is saying that I have had parkruns recently (usually run as a race, and getting faster...) which don't count as training. Time to reset HR zones perhaps?

EuanM 27 Nov 2019
In reply to Ridge:

My Strava “fitness” tracker gives a similar demotivating message. Suggesting I’m 40% less fit than I was 2 years ago.

A bit disappointing given this is my highest mileage year.

Ridge 27 Nov 2019
In reply to petemeads:

How hilly is your parkrun? If I record the parkrun at Whinlatter (about 600ft of ascent) as a 'run' it tells me I'm really unfit as I'm doing a slower pace and higher heart than for a 5k run on the flat...

Post edited at 09:46
 petemeads 27 Nov 2019
In reply to Ridge: