Bike Lights - Again

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Frankie boy 26 Dec 2018

Hi all,

I know this topic has probably been done to death, but bear with me, I'm new to the technical stuff on cycling and me mind melted when looking into this.

What I'm after is cheapish lights to go on my mountain bike. I'm not going to be doing any hardcore stuff, especially at night. Prob more like towpath stuff, easy trails and roads, so doesn't have to be amazingly bright but adequate. Also, it needs to charge via USB (live on a boat and no 240v). Ideally longish lasting battery too if I go on trips with limited power access. Oh, and ideally all in one, i.e. no seperate battery pack.

Sorry again for what is p[robably a repeated thread, and thansk for any advice.

Frank

Dr.S at work 26 Dec 2018
In reply to Frankie boy:

Do you already have a headtorch? If it’s fairly powerful just see if you can mount it on you bike lid.

Sharp 26 Dec 2018
In reply to Frankie boy:

Yeah a decent head torch is probably your best bet. I use cheap imported lights on the bike, but I charge them outside. If you're charging things on your boat then be really careful about cheap rechargables, they do catch fire every now and again and the only solution is charging them somewhere a fire would be contained or buying more expensive branded items.

elsewhere 26 Dec 2018
In reply to Frankie boy:

https://www.evanscycles.com/fwe-rechargeable-front-light-80-lumen-EV244785

https://www.evanscycles.com/fwe-rechargeable-light-set-80-15-lumen-EV215304

Front light is very bright for the tiny size.

I've been using the set helmet mounted for 4 or 5 winters, 1hr40mins per day.

Hooo 26 Dec 2018
In reply to Frankie boy: