When to replace slings?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
How do people judge when a sling needs replacing?

All my slings look OK obviously, no visible damage, but I am aware they do degrade over time (even if stored in the dark). So how do you decide, just on date of purchase, number of days out, by inspection, or some combination.

If it's relevant I am thinking of long slings used for anchors, and some 60cm which I used for extended quickdraws.
 Rob Morgan 29 Aug 2017
In reply to Adderbury Climber:

Well, I'm no expert but I'd say it's a combination. If you no longer fully trust a sling then perhaps it should be replaced.

A sling I regularly place around rocks etc I would replace sooner than one of my alpine draws which get less abuse.
 Coel Hellier 29 Aug 2017

Replace them when they are obviously furry (or have other visible defects; or, if they still look fine, after 5 yrs max).

Obviously this is merely an opinion.
 CurlyStevo 29 Aug 2017
I think the degrade in the dark thing when store in a cool dry place is slowly being accepted that its not as was previously thought.. Blue titan have stored a length of new static and periodically tested it and there is no degradation in strength. Its doesn't really make sense either the materials in climbing gear would take a long time to degrade in the absence of other factors.

Some manufacturers have now upped the obsolescence time span for material items (disregarding other factors) to 10 years from point of purchase. I imagine as before that still allows for 5 years on the shelves - which is unlikely to be that long IMO. This will still be conservative IMO.
Post edited at 18:10
 CurlyStevo 29 Aug 2017
In reply to Jonathan Lagoe - UKC: