Outdoor Instructor Insurance

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
So, I'm an outdoor instructor delivering SPA, ML, Mountain Bike Leader, Archery and related work and have spent all day looking for good public liability cover. After a lot of searching I've discovered 2 possible insurers both of whom were about half the price of other providers - these being John Ansell and Partners Ltd and Park Insurance Services. Just thought I'd put these names out there as they seem really good and competitive and was wondering if anyone has had any experiences with them

Also, was advised by one of these insurers that many Public liability policies do not cover for injury that occurs as a result of wrongful advice (i.e you say to one pair of climbers "ok, you can let go now" which a different pair overhears and in consequence someone is dropped). This was news to me. Check your policies.
In reply to Stuart (aka brt):

Yeah - I read that. it's interesting isn't it. Basically, I've got insurance mainly because some people ask for it - and without it you won't get work - but also because of the following:

As I understand it, if you're working for a centre following their procedures and guidelines to the letter and someone is injured then the centre is liable. If, however, you (accidentally) step outside those procedures and someone is injured as a result then you will be liable and the centre's insurance will attempt to recoup any claim from you and/or your insurer.

Also, i hope to do some pure sole trader work at some point.
In reply to edward thatcher:

> Yeah - I read that. it's interesting isn't it. Basically, I've got insurance mainly because some people ask for it - and without it you won't get work - but also because of the following: