Who works here in the Oil ang Gas industry

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
maria277 23 Apr 2017
Hello

Anyone has feedback on working offshore in the oil and gas industry? Isolated environment, work conditions, safety...

Thanks

Maria
 mudmonkey 23 Apr 2017
In reply to maria277:

Not any more after the slump! Did it for 22 years. What do you want to know?
 Rob Naylor 23 Apr 2017
In reply to maria277:

I work in the industry.... Well, oil, gas And renewables to be accurate. I don't go offshore myself any more, but I send people offshore and manage projects. Mostly on the upstream side... Seismic Surveying, Sites and Geotechnical. We've been in a horrible crash for over 2 years now, with huge job losses across the board and most of those still left taking significant pay cuts. There are a few small signs that things are improving again, but so far they're very modest.
 Rob Naylor 23 Apr 2017
In reply to maria277:

As regards work conditions etc, they're generally pretty good, at least working for the reputable companies. Most survey vessels these days are purpose-built and offer pleasant work environments. Rotations tend to be 5 weeks on and 5 off, so any "isolation" is short duration. Most have Internet access. Single cabins are the norm, which does seem to mean that there's less off-shift interaction than there used to be.

Safety is paramount these days, with strong training regimes and continuous highlighting of issues. Daily "toolbox" meetings are the norm, and crews are encouraged to report any unsafe acts or potentially poor practices they see.
 jethro kiernan 23 Apr 2017
In reply to maria277:

The economic climate is pretty harsh at the moment, the difficulties you began to list have only been made worse for those left in the industry ????
 Rob Naylor 23 Apr 2017
In reply to maria277: