Stainless pegs...

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 beardy mike 12 Jun 2008
 lithos 12 Jun 2008
In reply to mike kann:

there was a thread/posting somewhere on here or linked from here i think about a rant against stainless pegs as they did not bite well and could work loose. He claimed to have puled out many by hand easily.

I dont know much about pegs etc (other than they rot - which is why i guess SS ones are favoured)
OP beardy mike 12 Jun 2008
In reply to lithos: Hmm... I'm presuming that being in with the article photo's all will be revealed soon, but I'm bored lonely and inquisitive. Never a good combo
In reply to erikb56: Interesting Mester bond... thats one of them taken care of... what about the one with the evil looking barb?
 Mike Stretford 12 Jun 2008
In reply to mike kann: I'm no expert but I've had a look round the web and thrown in a bit of engineering knowledge. I assume ss pegs are used too often as they are too hard... I think other metals are used as they give a bit, and will deform into the crack. Won't ss pegs just shatter the rock?

I assume the criterea for pegs are, will deform into the crack so will seat well, but are strog enough to clip into (ie the head won't snap of after a fall).

Please someone correct me if I'm wrong... I haven't been able to google as much info as I would like.
 Michael Ryan 12 Jun 2008
 jkarran 12 Jun 2008
In reply to mike kann:

That barbed one is interesting. As is the weird mix of welded round bar and forged sections.

My mate makes his own pegs, mostly stainless from angle sections (ground into knifeblades) or flat (bendy lost arrows) with a twist for the eye which he invariably makes too small to clip!

jk
In reply to mike kann:

Stainless pegs are hardly new. Trevor Peck used to make curved channel pegs in the 60's, and they were used for aid climbing.