tight calves

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 The Potato 28 Mar 2017
hello fellow runners - can you offer me advice on tight calf muscles please?

Im not a fan of stretching, either dynamic or static, always seem to cause me more issues, so I generally warm up gradually before a run and most days use a foam roller on the affected areas.
Ive trained myself to midfoot strike and this has eliminated pretty much all niggles with knees and ITB. Ive been running for years and do vary my distance, pace, shoes, terrain, but one thing thats fairly constant is left calf muscle pain.
 tony 28 Mar 2017
In reply to The Potato:

Have you tried compression socks or calf guards? I know the science purported to support their use can sound a bit dodgy, but I've been using calf guards for a few years and my calf problems are nowhere near as serious as they used to be.

And, tight calves can be a sign of issues elsewhere. In my case, it's been lack of flexibility in the hips and pelvis, and exercises to strengthen and stretch have helped. A good physio or massage therapist should be able to identify areas of inflexibility and provide suitable exercises to help. A monthly session with a massage therapist is a good thing in its own right.
 stubbed 28 Mar 2017
In reply to The Potato:

Not a fan of stretching either but I have found yoga has really helped my running
OP The Potato 28 Mar 2017
In reply to tony:

I wear compression socks after a long event, usually overnight and that seems to help aid recovery.
I shall explore my range of movement, Im fairly flexible from the waist down.

In reply to stubbed:

that sounds useful - any particular style, do you do at home or attend a class?
 stubbed 28 Mar 2017
In reply to The Potato:

There is an app called 'yoga studio' that I really recommend for £2.99.
I have used it several times a week for 6 months and after 3 months I touched my toes for the first time in 15 years.