Next (New) Year's resolutions: Running faster

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 elliot.baker 11 Dec 2020

Last December I set myself loads of "New Year's resolutions*" which were really specific targets for this year. Some I achieved, some I didn't - overall I've really enjoyed working towards them and I'm going to do it again this year. The main one was running 1000km this year. I'm up to 950km so far (7km ahead - we're 94.3% of the way through year). 

Sticking to the 20km ish a week has been quite demanding as I couldn't let myself fall behind and had to fit it in around family, work and looking after self-isolating family. I can't imagine how people do double, triple or even more than this! I've really enjoyed going for night time, pitch-black, windy, rainy trail runs though with a headtorch, amongst many other types of run!

Next year - I've decided rather than focussing on distance I'm going to focus on SPEED! (Which I've never done before). This is all for fun, I'm not training for any races or anything. I will probably set myself a distance target of 500km running and 500km cycling because this year I've hardly got on my bike from trying to squeeze in runs.

Just wondered what people's thoughts on increasing speed are? I thought maybe the targets could be something like "improve 1km / 1 mile / 5km / 10km / half marathon PBs by X %" or something like that? If I did that I didn't know what kind of % to aim for though, and I recognise a HM is v. different to a 5km. I'll read into training plans like interval/tempo runs etc. too. I also recognise I can't "always get faster" because I assume there is a cycle to these things and I would surely burn-out or injure myself if I was always pushing.

I wanted to share this: 1) for selfish reasons (advice/pride) and: 2) because I really enjoyed it and the process made me learn and try new things (painting, woodwork etc.) and maybe others will be inspired to try new things too because of it.