Lengthening stride

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 goldmember 14 Nov 2017
I have quite a high cadence when running, but my stride length is comparatively short.
I would like to become more efficient and faster, I can imagine untraining years of running and retraining stride length, will be tricky and require lots of focus.
Any advice what the gains are like? What training and exercises you used? How do you falling back into old stride patterns?
 Yanis Nayu 14 Nov 2017
In reply to goldmember:

Not sure it’s such a good idea. I don’t think there is much benefit in trying but it would bring a high risk of injury.
Martin Penrice 14 Nov 2017
In reply to goldmember:

I've also got a high cadence and very small stride im doing ok . I'm not an expert on this but would lengthen your stride not cause cadence to drop and pace would still be same . I run with guys with long stride I seem to be running at same pace . If your changing things just be careful of injury maybe I'm too cautious don't like to change if I'm injury free
 StefanB 14 Nov 2017
In reply to goldmember:

I seem to remember reading (on here?) that there has been some research showing that re-training stride causes a inefficiencies, causes decrease in performance and does not help.

Unless there is something seriously wrong (such as overstriding and related injuries) I would not do anything to the stride. Instead train to run fast. Do speed work.
 Dave B 14 Nov 2017
In reply to goldmember:

Are you generally inflexible?
 The New NickB 14 Nov 2017
In reply to goldmember:

I wouldn’t do anything more than work on flexibility, especially hip mobility and maybe do some drills, but don’t over do it.