Ben Nevis' Ridges in Summer for beginners

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 jrclimber 12 Apr 2019

We're heading up to Scotland for a 5 day weekend in July and we should be stopping over in Fort William for a day or two on our trip. We're keen to take in Ben Nevis and while I'm sure we would enjoy The Pony Track, some of the easier Ridges such as Castle (M), North East (VD) or Tower (D) caught my eye. 

While we mainly sport climb I have some experience leading routes on Trad up to HS admittedly all on single pitch. Are these ridges too much of an undertaking? If not what skills should I be brushing up on ahead of time?

Thanks for any advise!

Milesy 12 Apr 2019
In reply to jrclimber:

Firstly most ridge days on the ben are quite long due to the walk in and out, and require at least a reasonable level of "hill fitness".

What mainly catches single pitch rock climbers out can be the exposure, accompanied with perhaps a much less level of protection than they are used to.

The walk in in July can be torture in the heat as well, especially with a reasonably big pack.

Some hillwalking in advance will put you in good stead, and some scrambles in similar grades further south.

OP jrclimber 12 Apr 2019
In reply to Milesy:

Thanks for the input! would you say the shortest of the three (Castle) is therefore advisable?

PaulJepson 12 Apr 2019
In reply to jrclimber:

On long mountain ridges, efficiency is key. You need to be happy to run it out or move together where it's easy and quick setting up anchors where it's not. 

I've only done Tower Ridge out of the ones you mentioned but most of the anchors were just blocks or spikes. 

Know how to Clove Hitch and Italian Hitch before and do loads of exposed scrambling and big mountain days. 

I'd take a single rope, set of nuts, cams 1,2,3, 8 extendable draws, loads of slings. 

tjdodd 12 Apr 2019
In reply to jrclimber: