Tracking down Bernard Newman and other Leeds alumni

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 sahara 26 Aug 2022

I'm a student at Leeds University and editor of The Journal, the Leeds Uni climbing magazine which we are bringing back to life after it's last publication 30 odd years ago. 

I have been trying to get in touch with Bernard Newman, an ex LUUMC member of the 70s and former editor of Climber magazine. If anyone knows a contact for him or an idea of how I could track him down, please tell!! Likewise, Dennis Gray and any individuals who were part of the scene 20+ years ago. The Journal is a celebration of the history of climbing in Leeds and West Yorkshire and I'm hoping to paint a picture of what life used to be like in the society and the wider climbing scene through interviews, old pictures and articles etc. 

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Sahara 

Pedro50 26 Aug 2022
In reply to sahara:

I've emailed Bernard to alert him to your post.

Peter

Email bounced back undelivered I'm afraid.

Post edited at 10:21
 Pekkie 26 Aug 2022
In reply to sahara:

Mick Ward, who is a user on here, used to go to the Leeds Wall in the 70s and wrote an interesting article about it. Might have some info/contacts?

65 26 Aug 2022
In reply to sahara:

Dennis is on FB, you should be able to track him down there.

In reply to sahara:

Bernard and I were both in LUUMC in the early 70's.  A lot of our contemporaries are no longer with us,Roger Baxter Jones,Alex Mac,John Syrett etc but Mike Mortimer ,Pete Scott are still around. Will contact BCN we might have some pics between us.

Neil Foster Global Crag Moderator 26 Aug 2022
In reply to sahara:

Have sent you a PM

OP sahara 26 Aug 2022
In reply to Pedro50:

That's a shame, maybe an out of use email? Thanks for your help nevertheless!

Mick Ward 26 Aug 2022
In reply to Pekkie:

Hi Pete,