Z=sqrt(R^2+(xL)^2) - where is the right angle?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 ablackett 17 Jan 2024

I'm a maths teacher, I saw that a collegue had been teaching some electronics.  

I noted that there was the equation, Z=sqrt(R^2+(xL)^2) written on the board, I asked him "what's Pythagoras doing there, where is the right angle?" "that's just the formula" he said.  I pushed slightly but he didn't have any clue why the calculation of the impedence, would be related to the resistance and the inductive reactance with a pythagorean formula.

Am I entirely barking up the wrong tree, or is there some underlying orthoganality at play with the resistance and inductance which helps us calculate the 'size' of the impedence?

lukevf 17 Jan 2024
In reply to ablackett:

The right angle is between the real and imaginary plane, Z = R + jwL so |Z| = sqrt(R^2+(wL)^2). where w = 2*pi*frequency. Googling phaser diagrams will get you onto the right track.

Stenton 17 Jan 2024
In reply to ablackett:

"The phase angle of reactance, either inductive or capacitive, is always 90o out-of-phase with the resistive component, so the circuit's resistive and reactive values cannot be simply added together arithmetically to give the circuits total impedance value. That is R + X does not equal Z."

https://www.electronics-tutorials.ws/accircuits/impedance.html

What someone will have to answer is if resistive impedance is '90deg out of phase' because it's defined/constructed as such (ie impedance over and above DC resistance) or if there's a more fundamental reason (ETA which lukevf may just have given)

Post edited at 17:47
 Hooo 17 Jan 2024
In reply to lukevf:

And you'd think the person teaching electronics would know this... I'd be pretty unimpressed with any teacher who says "it's just the formula" and doesn't know how to explain it.

deepsoup 17 Jan 2024
In reply to ablackett: