Solar energy - trustworthy firms ?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Rog Wilko 03 Oct 2023

Thinking of extending our solar array. Any firms to avoid/embrace in South Lakes area? Any experience of Lakes Solar ?

gav 03 Oct 2023
In reply to Rog Wilko:

We've just had panels/battery put in in Kendal by eden solar. Happy with what we've got.

Steve Claw 03 Oct 2023
In reply to Rog Wilko:

As a solar installer myself, I would say anyone local with MCS accreditation, who has preferably been trading for a few years.

Avoid any national firm, or anyone who sends a salesman over, even if they call it a "surveyor".  Trust pilot etc reviews are often all fake.

OP Rog Wilko 04 Oct 2023
In reply to Steve Claw:

Thanks for the tip. Looks like good advice.

OP Rog Wilko 05 Oct 2023
In reply to gav:

Thanks for your reply. Just wondering if you got quotes from other companies and if you did was your choice made on the basis of price or something else.

Phil1919 05 Oct 2023
In reply to Rog Wilko:

I had an installation of panels and a battery by Lakes Solar 2 weeks ago. They were quick and did what they said. I liked the 2 people I had contact with.

OP Rog Wilko 05 Oct 2023
In reply to Phil1919:

Thanks. That’s encouraging.

hokkyokusei 06 Oct 2023
In reply to gav:

I'm about to get a system fitted by Eden Solar via personal recommendation. They've been great to work with thoughout the design process.

Nic Barber 06 Oct 2023
In reply to Rog Wilko:

We got an array and battery installed by Lakes Solar in Feb. Good to deal with.

However, despite the app showing our system has been working, we've seen no decrease in bill payments - I'm wondering if there's something gone wrong with the wiring and it still gets counted on our meter. Been in contact with the office and they keep saying someone will come out to take a look but nothing yet. ME not being particularly proactive may have something to do with it, but still.