Other PO type scandals?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 MG 08 Jan 2024

Everyone is, rightly, looking at the PO scandal.  But, I can't see there is anything necessarily unique about it.  There must be other computer systems with flaws, and if as seems to be the case the law assumes computers are correct (this is insane!), there are presumably other cases of people being wrongly accused of fraud of whatever type too.  Perhaps time to review such cases more widely?

LastBoyScout 08 Jan 2024
In reply to MG:

I'm a software developer. Pretty much every Enterprise level system will have some bugs in it - some you can use a workaround to avoid, others you need to patch.

Faults can be VERY hard to diagnose in complex software, expecially if they are intermittant or require a very specific set of steps to trigger them, which users don't often remember and may not be reflected in log files. It could range from a network glitch to a wrong version of part of the software to a typo in an input file or even a permissions fault - all the way to an actual error in the code.

The issue with Horizon seems to be a lack of investigation and an attempted cover-up by senior staff. If you've got an issue that's only happening at 1 site, that's one thing - when it's happening at multiple sites, then that's a big clue that there's a fundamental issue somewhere.

Stichtplate 08 Jan 2024
In reply to MG:

Loads of issues with big IT projects, just look at anything NHS related. What seems (hopefully) unique in the post office case is the absolute determination of the leadership team to hound the little people through the courts and into prison while not just ignoring, but actively hiding evidence that would've exonerated them. Truly disgusting behaviour.

SouthernSteve 08 Jan 2024
In reply to LastBoyScout:

It's worse than that - A problem was noted in the beta software and reported and they prosecuted 2 people who were using it in the test period.