Open-ended trip duration travel insurance

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Toerag 21 Jul 2021

My other half is off to stay with her folks in Germland for the summer and doesn't have a date of return planned as the situation with covid is so variable planning is a waste of time. Will travel insurance companies offer insurance on this basis? I've come across individual trip duration limits in the past for multi-trip policies, but never had to buy open-ended travel insurance before.

profitofdoom 21 Jul 2021
In reply to Toerag:

> My other half is off to stay with her folks in Germland for the summer and doesn't have a date of return planned as the situation with covid is so variable planning is a waste of time. Will travel insurance companies offer insurance on this basis? I've come across individual trip duration limits in the past for multi-trip policies, but never had to buy open-ended travel insurance before.

I'm not an insurance expert - but I'm sorry that I cannot imagine a travel insurance policy without an end date on it: I think that is extremely unlikely to impossible to get. What could you say to the insurance company - "Please give me insurance to whenever I come back?"

So what I would do is [1] phone travel insurance companies and ask them; when that didn't work (as I predict), I would [2] work out the latest date I might return and buy an insurance policy up to that date (remembering that in the case of annual cover, there are usually a "maximum days per trip" and "maximum number of days out of the UK per year" clauses)

Good luck, and hope you can work it out

NinaC 21 Jul 2021
In reply to Toerag:

Hi,

Not sure if it’s what you’re looking for but have a look at true traveller. They offer policies for travelling without an end date. 

Post edited at 17:09
 Philip 21 Jul 2021
In reply to Toerag: