Engineering Maths question

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 ablackett 05 Dec 2018

I've been teaching A Level maths for a few years and have never been stumped by a question like this one before.

It is from a Level 3 (A Level standard) Engineering Maths paper (Design and Mechtronic Engineering).

First part is easy, 2nd part, I haven't got a clue what it is wanting, even when I've been through the mark scheme.

a) Friction and Load are connected by F=aL+b, where a and b are constants to be determined,  when F=100, L=70.   When F=80, L=50.

b) Confirm your values for a and b, by plotting a graph where a and b are values to be determined.

The axis given for (b) have 'a' on the x axis from 0-1.4 and F on the y-axis from 0-140.

100 points for anyone who can guess what they are expecting for part b!

wbo 05 Dec 2018
In reply to ablackett:Annotated graph showing how intercept and gradient determine, confirm the earlier calculated values?

Removed User 05 Dec 2018
In reply to ablackett:

Simultaneous equations surely?

a=1

b=30

It's very badly written but I assume that's what they're after. However you'd need a law degree to be certain.

Harry Jarvis 05 Dec 2018
In reply to Removed User:

They are the values of a and b, but the answer given states that the graph would plot a and F, That isn't what you would plot - you would plot F and L. Given that a is a constant, the suggested answer seems very odd. 

jas128 05 Dec 2018
In reply to ablackett:

Simultaneous equation for a.

For b, F=aL+b is in the form of a straight line. Plot the 2 given points and draw a line between them. From this graph work out the y intercept and gradient to confirm these give the same answers as in a.

Edit: with a on the x axis, rearrange the equation so that it is of the form y=mx+c where y=L and x=a, and m and c constants in terms of F and L

Post edited at 15:45
OP ablackett 05 Dec 2018
In reply to ablackett: