Carpal Tunnel Surgery

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 sharptrigg 04 Jan 2024

Hey,

I've been grappling with carpal tunnel in my right wrist for a few years now but it's recently developed to be near constant pain through the day.

I've had steroid shots from a hand surgeon who's considering surgery as a last resort if the steroids don't work (they haven't.) The surgeon is a climber himself and is concerned that the surgery could affect my climbing through a) reduced pinch strength as the thumb muscles anchor to the carpal ligament and b) pain from the scar tissue. 

I have tried all kinds of exercises/supplements to try mitigate the CTS but I suspect it may be brought on by a historic wrist injury anyway.

I thought that the surgery was nearly complication free (and from reading on UKC/Mountain Project posts seems to be very successful) but his recent points have made me apprehensive despite the surgery being increasingly likely as the CTS is deteriorating my general quality of life.

I'm just wondering if anyone here has had the procedure done and can let me know how/if it's affected their climbing/grip strength? I'm still young (23) so it's an important decision which could affect many years of climbing.

Cheers! 

NaCl 04 Jan 2024
In reply to sharptrigg:

Had it maybe a year and a half ago after having increasingly on, but on and off, CT problems for a number of years. I'm a decent chunk older than you but I certainly haven't noticed any real difference in strength. Tbh I  *feel* stronger now than before as I'm more able to climb longer and more regularly than before as I have no problems and so have less time off waiting for symptoms to ease. I can't comment as to whether it will/has affected peak potential strength as it's a theoretical thing based on what I could maybe achieve.  

Fwiw, I'd say just get it done. I wish I had earlier. Just my 2p worth so get free to ignore or not. 

OP sharptrigg 04 Jan 2024
In reply to NaCl: