B0 vs. B1 boots

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Echo_Delta21 27 Nov 2023

Hello,

My Quechua hiking boots from circa 2015 are on their last legs and I'm in the market for some new footwear! I hike year-round and live in Yorkshire so regularly hike the fells of the Dales, and more recently the Lakes. I am keen to explore more of the Lakes, start bagging Wainwrights, and organise some trips up to Scotland too!

My question is, what does one use for year-round hiking? I'm not really looking to buy a pair of B0s for summer and B2s for winter use - I am a student and this is expensive! What are your experiences using B1 boots for all-season hiking? The reason for not just sticking to hiking boots is that I am captivated by hiking in the snow as well, and am interested in trying crampons out for the first time. I have had a few sketchy days out in those trusty Decathlon boots which I care not to repeat without a crampon. I was looking at a pair of Salomon Quest 4s in store which fit me beautifully but I wouldn't trust them on snowy trails even with a micro crampon (or am I wrong here?)

To clarify, I don't go climbing, I stick to hiking trails and major routes up fells - a normal day out would be anywhere from 5-15 miles. I have been looking at a few options for B1s that include Scarpa Mescalito TRK Pro GTX (true B1), La Sportiva Trango Tower GTX (read that these are "B1.5") and Scarpa Ribelle Lite OD/HD (again officially B2 but read that it behaves like a B1). Has anyone had any experience with these boots or others from the big name brands? My concern is that I would find a stiffer sole uncomfortable in the summer, but then again I guess you don't know until you try!

Any insight much appreciated!

Ed

CameronDuff14 27 Nov 2023
In reply to Echo_Delta21: