Air Techs for climbing

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 0ni0n 21 Jan 2023

I’m going to Scotland for the first time in Feb and trying to make sure I’m as prepared as possible.

I hadn’t thought much about it until the other day when my climbing partner said my crampons won’t be very suitable. I said they were G12s but I realised now they’re air techs which I understand to be even less suitable. and I accidentally sold some spare g12s awhile  back and regret it now.

id like to get on as many grade III and potentially IV as well. Will the air techs be suitable enough or a bit daft?

I’ve used them lots in wales on grade ii’s and one grade iii and they’ve been okay but I did feel like something more substantial on crib lem would have been appreciated.

I’ve seen the petzl lynx for £170, but I’m a broke student so spending less is always best. They’ll be paired with manta techs.

sorry if it’s a boring/stupid post but some advice would be much appreciated.

DaveHK 21 Jan 2023
In reply to 0ni0n:

G12 would be perfect, Air Techs slightly less perfect but absolutely fine. Its the boots that will let you down if you're moving on to grade IV as they're only a B2.

OP 0ni0n 21 Jan 2023
In reply to DaveHK:

Thank you, I’ll hold off till next year then. Should have paid more attention when selling the g12’s i was thinking they were identical.

And I guess the fella at Joe browns who sold me the boots was a bit optimistic saying they’d be good for grade V…

DaveHK 21 Jan 2023
In reply to 0ni0n:

> And I guess the fella at Joe browns who sold me the boots was a bit optimistic saying they’d be good for grade V…

Well you could, but it might not be much fun!

beardy mike 21 Jan 2023
In reply to 0ni0n: