Scottish Climbing Books (not guidebooks)

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 xiankiefer 31 Oct 2023

Hi all:

I'm a California-based climber headed to Scotland in late Feb to check out the winter climbing. I'm wondering if you might have some reading recommendations for me. Not guidebooks--I've already got all of those--but books about climbers and climbing. I've read Tom Patey and Hamish MacInnes, and I've read the 2 volume history of Scottish Mountaineering. And the book by the same author on Ben Nevis. 

I've just ordered Crazy Sorrow, a book I've only just heard of here on UKC. We just don't have much in the way of Scottish / UK-based climbing literature here in the states, probably because we're a bunch of philistines.

Anyway, do let me know if books come up for you. I'm a novelist by trade and love armchair climbing. Keeps my stoke up for the snows to come in.

From California, where it is currently 75 degrees and sunny. Bleh.

Christian Kiefer

Andy Clarke 31 Oct 2023
In reply to xiankiefer:

A couple of my all-time favourite climbing reads focus on Scottish climbing:

Julian Lines: Tears of the Dawn - the prose is often as poetic as the title would lead you to expect. Beautifully written and the best insight into the hard soloist's psyche that I've ever read.

W H Murray: Mountaineering in Scotland & Undiscovered Scotland - one of the great stylists. His work is studded with passages of gorgeous description, shimmering with spirituality, set alongside enjoyably dry humour. First-hand accounts of early ascents of some truly classic routes.

Post edited at 06:54
 DaveHK 31 Oct 2023
In reply to xiankiefer:

One of the most interesting times in Scottish climbing history for me is the interwar years, as much because of the social history as the climbing history.

Always a Little Further by Alastair Borthwick is a classic account of this time.