Bach cello suits

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Jon Stewart 13 Mar 2018

Might be a bit of an odd one to ask on a climbing forum, but there's some great wisdom on UKC in a surprising breadth of fields.

I'm a novice at listening to and understanding classical (OK, and baroque, romantic etc) music, but once I've got a "way in" to understanding a particular genre or piece I get a great deal of pleasure and stimulation from it. I have a general feel for stuff that I like, but I find it hard to really get into a piece of complicated music until I understand it well enough to follow what's going on. 

This is where I am with the Bach cello suites. I like the sound and feel of the music, but I just don't get what is going on and so I struggle to concentrate sufficiently to get much out of them. And it's obvious that there's a huge amount to get out, I just need a bit of guidance in *how* to listen to them.

I've done some online courses in "concert music", that are fairly light and cover a bit of history and context, basic stuff about how the music is structured, and some splashes of analysis, and really enjoyed them. The knowledge has totally transformed my relationship with pieces of music I was already partly familiar with - I'm a great believer that understanding enhances wonder rather than diminishes it. But I haven't found anything that's opened up the world of the Bach cello suites. I had a quick look at a course on Bach but just couldn't get through the churchy organ stuff (clever, my god yes, but what a horrible sound!) and there weren't any lectures on the cello suites so I gave up.