What mountain bike do I need??

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 fenski 17 Apr 2023

I am looking for a new bike for general mountain biking in the Austrian alps, but I have little knowledge/interest of bikes themselves, even though I would consider myself a decent intermediate in the bike park. It's all a bit techy, and I just want something to do what I need it to, without getting into all of the different technical aspects of brakes, gears, etc..... 

For reference, I already have a downhill bike (YT Tues) which I am using to ride the bike parks at Saalbach/Leogang normally. Overall very happy with it (it gets me confidently down any runs in the bike park) but is the only downhill bike I've owned, so I don't have another reference point.

What I would now like is a bike for non-lift assisted mountain biking. In my opinion, it should be able to get down an intermediate run in the bike park comfortably, but should also be able to be pedaled uphill well as there will be equally as much uphill as downhill on this bike.  

There are various different names such as "trail", "XC", "All Mountain", "Enduro", but what do I actually need??

I'm thinking:

Full suspension

29" wheels. 

Dropper seat post

Do I need to be able to lock out the front and/or rear suspension for going uphill? or is the suspension setup so different that it's not required??

No. of gears??

Recommendations of specific bikes would be good as it would give me a starting point. I would like to stick to euro brands, as I need to get serviced maintained here.

First bike I looked at, as an example, is a Cube Stereo One. Not sure if this is a good reference? Again, there are a million options with this model ranging form 2k to 5k, but I have no idea what I really

budget wise - 2500 euro. Unless there is a compelling reason to pay more or less for specific features. 

Cheers

damowilk 17 Apr 2023
In reply to fenski: