UKC

Anchoring

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Christi323 04 Jun 2023

Hi, I'm wondering if I can see beforehand on Rockfax (or similar) what anchoring situation is present at the end of a sports climbing route. For example if it's two separate bolts or if are they connected with a chain. 

I've been doing lead climbing indoors for a few months now and also practiced at the anchoring station in the gym. Ahead of my first climb outdoors, I would like to minimise any elements of surprise  

For example this one in Hedbury: https://www.ukclimbing.com/logbook/crags/hedbury-257/sea_view-14867 

Many thanks!

Luke90 04 Jun 2023
In reply to Christi323:

That info doesn't tend to be recorded. And at some crags it can vary from sector to sector, or even route to route. From one of the comments, it sounds like that particular route has a lower-off you can hook the rope over without needing to re-thread. But if you're concerned, it might be worth asking around at the crag when you're there. If you've been taken through the options, and how to handle them, you should be well prepared anyway.

Martin Hore 04 Jun 2023
In reply to Christi323:

I think both of the options you describe are considered standard and therefore would not get special mention in a guidebook. In my experience both are often found on the same crag, often on adjacent routes. You need to be confident to deal with either - it should be possible to practice both at your indoor wall.

If something else is in place (eg pigs-tail anchor or "moulinox") in my experience this will normally be mentioned in the guidebook. But it's not common to find anything else in the UK.

Happy to be corrected by those with more sport climbing experience.

Good luck with your first foray outdoors!

Martin

Suncream 04 Jun 2023
In reply to Christi323: