Peugeot 2008 cam belt problems

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 gammarus 08 Jul 2023

After an ominous warning light appeared, I took my 2008 to a garage and was told that the cam belt was breaking up, and fragments were blocking a tiny oil filter, with potentially serious consequences. I was also informed that it could cost 1-2k to fix. 
Has anyone else had this? Any advice?

It seems that I may have to pay handsomely to solve a problem caused by poor design or shoddy materials or both.

Rick Graham 08 Jul 2023
In reply to gammarus:

I am not a mechanic but every vehicle I have had with a cam belt has had the cam belt outside the engine and the oil and filters ,hopefully, inside the engine. Ask the garage why the difference on the 2008 or get a second opinion somewhere else.

In reply to Rick Graham:

I’ve no idea on a 2008, but this is same/similar to OP - https://pmmonline.co.uk/technical/repxpert-replaces-peugeot-timing-belt/

In reply to gammarus:

If your cam belt is disintegrating already, then, sorry, you are on borrowed time. Ignoring the belt change and/or blocked oil filter,  could lead to terminal engine failure or a very expensive rebuild.

If you are not happy to trust your garage, get a second opinion and prices. BTW a “simple” cam belt replacement can be easily £500 plus depending on model and garage used. Also, need to consider what they are pricing.

It is usually recommended to consider replacing other connected parts like rollers, pulleys, maybe water pump and other things. This is because they may fail afterwards and need another cam belt change. If replacing other things the cost will of course go up and you will need to consider that and if you think it worthwhile.

Post edited at 10:56
 Rick Graham 08 Jul 2023
In reply to Climbing Pieman:

Interesting read, thanks. Belt in oil, seems a strange combination but what do I know.

Typically,  belt change interval now reduced, heard that before.