Looking for my first proper pair of shoes

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
joepye 20 Dec 2014
I've been climbing for a few months now, wearing hired shoes (mainly mad rock), and I want to make the leap to my first pair. They will be almost entirely used for indoor bouldering with the occasional outdoor or rope climbing, so no need for comfortable, all day shoes. I'm progressing quite quickly so something that will allow me to really test myself would be ideal, maybe downturned if possible for my price range. My budget isn't very high, around £70 would be great although I could push it a little higher. I've been looking mainly at Evolv and the La Sportive Tarantula although I've hear that they get holes easily.
Thanks.
 tehmarks 20 Dec 2014
In reply to joepye:

Your best bet is to go into a shop and try on as many pairs as possible to see what fits and what suits you best. Some shoes just won't fit your feet - for example I've yet to find a pair of 5.10 shoes which I can wear without crippling pain. I wouldn't necessarily consider anything radically-shaped at this point in your climbing either - shoes won't magically make your footwork better either, and your footwork will be better if your feet aren't numb through pain. Something vaguely technical that fits well will serve you much better than a banana-shaped torture device.

Shoes are consumable too, don't expect them to last longer than a year without serious wear if you're climbing a lot, especially indoors, and especially if your footwork is still improving. You can get shoes resoled for less than buying a new pair, but it does change the feel of them.

Hope that helps.
 Kevster 20 Dec 2014
In reply to tehmarks:

Sound advice.

Comfy shoes rule.

Something like scarpa vapour (decathalon has cheapish) or sportiva mythos (most comfy shoes known to most) would see you climb French 7s easily. You don't need toe down shoes or ones which are too tight.