Trespass: one for the lawyers

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 gingerkate 22 Sep 2004
Could one of you people who knows about the law tell me what trespass actually entails?

At some stage I picked up the idea that for your venturing onto other people's property to count as trespass you have to have damaged something (even if only something very minor, like squashed grass) or else have refused to leave, when asked to do so by teh landowner.

Presumably a great big KEEP OUT sign would count as the landowner telling you to leave....

But in other cases, where there's no sign, if you stray off a right of way/access area, am I right in thinking that you're breaking no law until you get spotted and asked to go, and that you are breaking the law then if and only if you refuse to exit their land by the shortest route?
Woker 22 Sep 2004
In reply to gingerkate:
I'm no lawyer but...

trespass as a legal notion, as far as I know does not depend on whether you damaged anything or not.

that is more to do with what the farmer can ask for as compensation of you tresspassing. Which remember is only a citzens offence so you get no criminal record and the police will not get involved normally.

I think legally if you leave the land when asked and haven't damaged anything then there is nothing the land owner can do about your actions.
 Fiend 22 Sep 2004
In reply to gingerkate:

Is this to do with more covert protest operations or something =).
OP gingerkate 22 Sep 2004
In reply to Fiend:
No, I'm too goody goody to trespass anyway. It was just the Vixen Tor thread got me wondering, and I'd like to know for sure what teh law actually was...

Wot covert protest operations?
 Dave Garnett 22 Sep 2004
In reply to gingerkate:

I'm sure many more qualified will be along in a moment, but...